MUSIC NEWS: DAVE ELLEFSON Teams with for JOHNNY WORE BLACK "Firefly" Bass Playthrough Video

JOHNNY WORE BLACK, the up-and-coming dark rock project featuring frontman / Hollywood-stuntman-by-day Jay and guest musician / co-writer Dave Ellefson (Megadeth), will release a brand new full-length, Walking Underwater Pt. 2, on November 26, 2014 via Dead Cherry. Today, is hosting a brand new playthrough video featuring Dave Ellefson showcasing a bass riff from the new JWB track 'Firefly'. Check out the video here, (which happens to include a special feline cameo):


Walking Underwater Pt. 2 will be available for pre-order soon! Walking Underwater Pt. 2 is produced by Jay himself, with several tracks mixed by Grammy-award winning producer David Bottrill (Tool, Stone Sour).


Pulling inspiration from his work on the silver screen (having worked as a stuntman in films like Les Miserables, The Dark Knight Rises, Fast and Furious 6 and most recently, Fury with Brad Pitt), JOHNNY WORE BLACK 'the artist' has created his own brand of dark, atmospheric musical intrigue.


As mentioned above, Walking Underwater Pt. 2 features the one and only Dave Ellefson of "Big 4" heavy metal titans Megadeth, as well as a few additional guest appearances from Croatian singer Sara Renar, and renowned soul singer Loretta Heywood. Both esteemed artists bring a new level of undeniable credibility and brooding, haunting sounds that Jay bases JOHNNY WORE BLACK on.


Walking Underwater Pt. 2 tracklisting:

1.      Firefly (co-written by Dave Ellefson)

2.      A Cut Above (co-written by Dave Ellefson)

3.      Comfy Slippers (feat. Dave Ellefson on bass)

4.      Fallen Angel (feat. Dave Ellefson on bass)

5.      Gift of Desperation (co-written by Dave Ellefson)

6.      I Do Dissolve (feat. Dave Ellefson on bass)

7.      Noise

8.      Shine On – (feat. Croatian singer Sara Renar)

9.      Whose Children (feat. Dave Ellefson on bass)

10.  Winter in July – (Cover feat. vocals by Loretta Heywood + Loretta Heywood/Bomb The Bass collaboration)



Walking Underwater Pt. 1 was released earlier this year and received excellent reviews.'s Chris Gonda calls the album an "intensely passionate collection of songs", while Screamer Magazine stated, "If you wish to purchase an album that doesn't conform, yet provides a top quality set of textures and shades, then prepare yourself to be quietly impressed."


This follows the praise of previously released singles 'All The Rage' (2011), 'Up In Flames' (2012), 'Noise' (2012) and 'Gift of Desperation' (2013). September 2014 marked the release of the new JOHNNY WORE BLACK single 'A Cut Above'.




Johnny Wore Black – vocals

Pete Mathers – guitar

Simon Hutchby – drums

David Ellefson – bass

James Coppolaro – guitar

Loretta Heywood – vocals (Winter in July)

Sara Renar – vocals (Shine On)

Be sure to pick up ANONYMOUS, the novel that Publishers Weekly hailed as a "well-crafted piece of experimental, voyeuristic fiction..." and "a winning jumble of the gritty, the raw, and the grotesque" at
Share |