MUSIC NEWS: JEFFERSON GRIZZARD ANNOUNCES TOUR WITH GLENN TILBROOK

Singer/songwriter/guitarist Jefferson Grizzard is rapidly making a name for himself, thanks to his latest release, 'Learning How to Lie,' and stylistic comparisons to the likes of Wilco and Ryan Adams. And from late September through late October, Grizzard will undoubtedly be turning heads and winning over new fans, when he opens a string of dates for Glenn Tilbrook (yes, that "Glenn Tilbrook" from Squeeze fame!) throughout the US.  "I'm thrilled to be on this US tour with Glenn Tilbrook," enthuses Grizzard. "It's a great opportunity for me to get the chance to work with him."

The Georgia native is best described as either a "poetic singer/songwriter with his roots in American Rock" or "'65 Dylan and the Hawks meet Cohen and Petty," and the proof is in the music throughout 'Learning How to Lie,' which runs the gamut from rocking tunes ("Long Time Coming") to ballads ("Lorelei"), and also strikes a chord lyrically (especially the title track, which offers commentary on the human condition).

And Grizzard's talents are being recognized by his peers, including fellow singer-songwriter Willie Nile, who has had praise for the new release (and even contributes vocals to a bonus track, "When Levon Sings"). "Brilliant new CD by Jefferson Grizzard. Thunder and lightning in letters from the underground. Strangers and outcasts learning how to lie in the search for truth and salvation. Tom Waits meets the Stones at the Heartbreak Hotel. Great album."

This autumn, fans (and soon-to-be-fans) will be able to able to experience the talents of Mr. Grizzard and Mr. Tilbrook on a nearby concert stage.

TOUR DATES:

Tue 23rd September - Brighton Music Hall, Boston, MA
Thu 25th September - City Winery, NY, NY
Fri 26th September - City Winery, NY, NY
Sun 28th September - Tin Angel, Philadelphia, PA
Mon 29th September - Rams Head Tavern, Annapolis, MD
Tue 30th September - Jammin Java, Vienna, VA
Wed 1st October - Cat's Cradle, Carrboro, NC
Thu 2nd October - Smith's Olde Bar, Atlanta, GA
Sat 4th October - Minglewood Hall - 1884 Lounge, Memphis, TN
Sun 5th October - The Kessler Theater, Dallas, TX
Mon 6th October - The Roost, Austin, TX
Wed 8th October - Last Exit, Phoenix, AZ
Thu 9th October - The Mint, Los Angeles, CA
Fri 10th October - Brick & Mortar, San Francisco, CA (early show)
Sun 12th October - Solid Dove, Denver, CO
Mon 13th October - The Record Bar, Kansas City, MO
Tue 14th October - Turf Club, St Paul, MN
Wed 15th October - City Winery, Chicago, IL
Thu 16th October - SPACE, Evanston, IL
Fri 17th October - Beachland Ballroom, Cleveland, OH
Sun 19th October - Hard Rock Cafe, Pittsburg, PA
Mon 20th October - The Wonder Bar, Asbury Park, NJ
Thu 23rd October - Suffolk Theater, Riverhead, NY
Fri 24th October - Seckler Stage at Highland Lakes, Highland Lakes, NJ

'LEARNING HOW TO LIE' TRACKLISTING:
1. Long Time Coming
2. Plastic Lady
3. Lorelei
4. New Location
5. Learning How To Lie
6. Rough Times in Paris (Around Around)
7. In the Fall
8. Bound For The Sun
9. So Far Down
10. Rose
11. Cant Knock Em Out
12. When Levon Sings

--
Be sure to pick up ANONYMOUS, the novel that Publishers Weekly hailed as a "well-crafted piece of experimental, voyeuristic fiction..." and "a winning jumble of the gritty, the raw, and the grotesque" at http://www.tanamor.com/p/anonymous.html.
Share |

0 Comments: