MUSIC NEWS: @NaamaKates Album Souled Out October 7, 2014

Critically acclaimed singer-composer-actor Naama Kates will release her third album, Souled, on Tuesday, October 7, 2014. On the new album, Kates reunites with award-winning producer Cyrus Melchor, who also produced her first album, The Unexamined Life. The new album, Souled, is an ethereal reflection on life, love, longing, and Los Angeles. Souled's thoughtful lyrics showcase Kates' sultry voice and genre-bending arrangements. The album will be released through CD Baby and available digitally via online outlets including iTunes, Amazon, Google Music Store, eMusic, Nokia, Xbox Music, as well as other sites. Physical copies of the CD will be available through CD Baby, Amazon, and Southern California retailers Amoeba Music, and Battery Books & Music. For additional information, please visit

A record release party for the new album is also scheduled for Tuesday, October 7, 2014, hosted by Mount Cyanide Studio at The Complex in Atwater Village (3015 Glendale Blvd., Los Angeles, 90039; 323-665-2777; The free, outdoor event will feature an open bar and will start at 8:00pm. Ages 21+ welcome. Kates (vox, keys) will be joined onstage by Melchor (MPC, guitar), Rich West (drums), and Steuart Liebig (bass). Projections will be provided by visual artist/VJ Michael Allen.

"The songs on Souled are about life, seen through both a micro and macro lens, with narrators that range from taunting inner voices to omniscient beings," says Kates, "The album is a work of soul-searching, culminating with the title song, a play on 'sold.'"

The album was recorded at Melchor's Mount Cyanide Studio in Atwater Village as well as engineer Scott Fraser's studio in Mount Washington, both in Los Angeles. Souled finds Melchor incorporating more electronic elements into Kates' continually evolving sound. Her smoky vocal stylings draw comparisons to Fiona Apple, Cat Power, Norah Jones, Regina Spektor, and Tori Amos, and yet her sound remains uniquely her own. The subject matter on the album was inspired by everyday life – from frustrations with the City of Los Angeles' Parking Violations Bureau to the political upheaval in the Ukraine to Kates' search for her missing cat (who is safely back home!). Additional collaborators on Souled include Joseph Harvey on cello, guitarist GE Stinson, Danny Levin on horns, drummer Rich West, and Alexander DeYoung, who mastered the album. A new video, directed by Luis Aguirre, is also in the works for the track, "Waves," from the new album. Aguirre also created the album cover art for Souled and directed Kates' "Airplanes" video, released earlier this year.

With several indie films and TV appearances notched on her belt, Kates continues to be active on the screen as well. Her film Chloe, originally titled The 10 Commandments of Chloe, is set to release in late 2014. The undeniably autobiographical film, which stars Kates, is about a young musician who is new to Nashville, and features songs from Kates' The Unexamined Life. The film, directed by Princeton Holt, swept up 9 awards on the festival circuit and at jury competitions, including several for Best Lead Actress and Best Narrative Feature. That attention led to the film getting picked up for distribution by a bi-coastal production company. Chloe is currently undergoing revisions before a wider release later this year.

Souled Track List –
01 – Hurricane – 5:15
02 – For Our Friends – 4:09
03 – Wait Until Bright – 4:20
04 – Sunrise – 4:28
05 – Waves – 2:56
06 – Run – 4:24
07 – Growl – 3:13
08 – Windows – 2:56
09 – Chime – 3:49
10 – On My Love – 3:53
11 – Souled – 4:02

Be sure to pick up ANONYMOUS, the novel that Publishers Weekly hailed as a "well-crafted piece of experimental, voyeuristic fiction..." and "a winning jumble of the gritty, the raw, and the grotesque" at
Share |