Oakland based indie rock band The American Scene has announced today that they will be releasing their second studio album, Haze, on September 9th via Pure Noise Records. In anticipation for the upcoming release, the band has launched a pre-order for the record and released a new video for their song "Royal Blue," both of which can be accessed at  Additionally, the band has also debuted a new site for exclusive content, future songs and video releases and more.
It's no secret that the Bay Area has long been an inspiring hub of creativity and a hotbed for unique and prolific musical acts. From Oakland to San Francisco, the cities have produced some of rock's most influential acts like Grateful Dead, Tom Waits, Green Day and Metallica and the area's rich musical history has helped pave the way for its successful Outside Lands Festival and rising local bands like Young Prisms, Ty Segall and Tune-Yards. Every so often the Bay Area produces an inspiring new band or artist that will make waves in the U.S. rock scene and alter the current musical landscape. Enter The American Scene.
Formed in 2009, The American Scene got their start writing and performing shows in their native city of Oakland. Comprised of two identical twin brothers, Matt (vocals/bass) and Charles Vincent (drums) along with Chris Purtill (guitar) and Jeff Wright (guitar/vocals), the band released an EP, By Way of Introduction, in 2010 introducing the indie-alternative scene to their unique style of jangly indie rock riffs and inimitably mesmerizing vocals. 
By 2012, the band had signed with local Bay Area indie, Pure Noise Records, and released their debut full-length record, Safe For Now. The release received top marks from local and national music critics and helped establish the band as one of the Bay Area's best rising indie rock bands. Following the release the band spent the next few years playing shows with the likes of The Story So Far, Man Overboard, Handguns, Daybreaker among other, and amassing a hardcore following of fans along the way.
Fast forward to July of 2014 and The American Scene has announced the release of their highly anticipated follow up album, Haze, which was produced by Sam Pura (The Story So Far, Polar Bear Club, Self Defense Family) at The Panda Studios in Fremont, CA. After several releases and years on the road the band has settled in, found their groove and ready to explore their sound with a refined sense of experience and focused songwriting.
"This record came together very naturally," explains Wright. "Going into it, we were much more conscious of the sound we wanted and what we wanted to portray with the songs. A great deal has changed about our lives since Safe For Now and we think Haze clearly reflects that in a concise and brilliantly framed light. We've grown with this record, just as we had with the last and we're very excited to see what it is that we can accomplish next."
Haze features ten beautifully written indie-rock songs, including the newly released track "Royal Blue." The record is scheduled for release on September 9th and can be pre-ordered now at  Catch the band at select dates with Balance and Composure in August.
Haze Tracklist:
1. Haze
2. Royal Blue
3. Nails of Love
4. 4th and Broadway
5. Dark Creak
6. What I Could Gather
7. Over To You
8. White Widow
9. Drone
10. Brume
The American Scene Tour Dates:
Aug 19 - Fresno, CA - Strummer's (w/Balance and Composure)
Aug 20 - San Francisco, CA - Slims (w/Balance and Composure)
Aug 21 - San Diego, CA - Irenic (w/Balance and Composure)

Be sure to pick up ANONYMOUS, the novel that Publishers Weekly hailed as a "well-crafted piece of experimental, voyeuristic fiction..." and "a winning jumble of the gritty, the raw, and the grotesque" at
Share |