MUSIC NEWS: Billy Ray Cyrus: World Premiere Of “The Distance” On Rolling Stone Country

As BILLY RAY CYRUS gears up for the release of his retrospective album THE DISTANCE, the American singer, songwriter and actor has premiered the title track off the album Monday, June 2 via Rolling Stone Country. Listen to "The Distance" the only new song off THE DISTANCE--a collection of hits spanning CYRUS' 22-year career which has been marked by multiple GRAMMY nominations--here:

"The song is about going full circle in my life both personally and professionally," explains CYRUS. "I'm proud to still be standing here and looking forward to what the future holds. I am going the distance."

Song highlights on THE DISTANCE--due out June 3rdon Mercury/Ume as part of Ume's ICON album series--include "Stand" (with Miley Cyrus), "Country Music Has the Blues" (with George Jones and Loretta Lynn), "Achy Breaky Heart" and an acoustic version of "Some Gave All." has premiered the acoustic version of "Some Gave All" off THE DISTANCE. Listen here: The collection features new versions of some of his most beloved hits, along with some album cuts that never made the radio airwaves. Full tracklisting is below.

CYRUS heads to Nashville this week CMA Music Festival. On Saturday, June 7, he'll perform live at the CMA Music Festival on the Riverfront Stage ( Later that night, CYRUS and his band will do a special show at the Grand Ole Opry (2804 Opryland Dr, Nashville, TN 37214), set time is 7:45pm. CYRUS will join Craig Morgan, Mel Tillis, Charley Pride, Ricky Skaggs, and more to be added for the Opry show. On Thursday, June 5, CYRUS will be on hand for a screening of LIKE A COUNTRY SONG, a new independent film he is featured in; it will premiere during CMA Fest at the Regal Cinema (3815 Green Hills Village Dr., Nashville). The evening will commence with a cast/celebrity red carpet at 6:00 PM and the film will screen at 7:30PM. LIKE A COUNTRY SONG explores the "life happens" experiences of a talented and emerging country singer and reveals the personal character flaws, hurdles and unexpected challenges hindering the momentum of a hopeful career. The film will be featured in limited release in select theaters in Music City and around the nation beginning Friday, June 6 (

Following is the tracklisting for THE DISTANCE, part of Mercury/Ume's ICON series.

1.         The Distance (Sandford)
2.         Trail Of Tears* (Cyrus)
3.         Call Me Daddy* (Cyrus/Von Tress/Sagraves)
4.         Busy Man** (Regan/Teren)
5.         Wanna Be Your Joe (Cyrus)
6.         Stand (with Miley Cyrus), (Dodd/Watts)
7.         The Freebird Fell (King/Pyle)
8.         Need A Little Help* (Cyrus/Von Tress)
9.         Country Music Has The Blues (w/George Jones and Loretta Lynn), (Trace     Cyrus)
10.       Some Gave All (acoustic), (Cyrus/Cyrus)
11.       Achy Breaky Heart*** (Von Tress)

All tracks produced by BILLY RAY CYRUS except otherwise noted.
*Produced by Terry Shelon and Billy Ray Cyrus
**Produced by John Kelton and Keith Stegall
***Produced by Joe Scaife and Jim Cotton
+Produced by Chas Sanford

Catch BILLY RAY CYRUS on the road in the following cities below. Expect more dates to be announced soon.

Be sure to pick up ANONYMOUS, the novel that Publishers Weekly hailed as a "well-crafted piece of experimental, voyeuristic fiction..." and "a winning jumble of the gritty, the raw, and the grotesque" at
Share |