Sire Records has announced the signing of new artist, and John Lennon Songwriter Award recipient, Ben Fields. Fields is set to release his debut album, Extraordinary Light on June 17th. Extraordinary Light features the lead single of the same name, as well as "Swede" - the highly praised song that sparked Fields' achievement of the John Lennon Songwriting Award. The album is a product of Fields' meticulous craftsmanship, mixed with the mastering and cutting of acclaimed Bernie Grundman (Michael Jackson's "Thriller," Prince's "Purple Rain," Carole King's "Tapestry"), as well as ingenious collaborations with producer JC Hopkins (Willie Nelson, Norah Jones) and renowned guest vocalists including Jolie Holland and Warren Smith.


After a chance meeting with Sire Records' legendary Seymour Stein (Madonna, The Ramones, The Pretenders, Depeche Mode) at a music conference in Australia - where American born Ben Fields had been living and working in a café - the aspiring singer/songwriter took a leap of faith. Stein had offered Fields his business card and told him to look him up if he was ever in New York City. Well, that was enough for Fields. He packed up his girlfriend, their dog, furniture and moved to Brooklyn, where he now lives. Fields showed up at Stein's office with music and the rest is history – he was signed to Sire in November 2012.


Introspective from day one, Ben Fields is far from the typical modern recording artist. Representing a stylistic homogeny of Harry Nilsson, The Beatles, Curtis Mayfield, and Lowell George, Fields brings the introspective songwriting pioneered by artists like Van Morrison back into the mainstream. The singer/songwriter has long-standing artistic roots in music, radio and film. Along with 4 years of education in music composition, Fields' creative history includes a celebrated voiceover and acting career, and a successful on-air radio run in Australia that earned him a nomination for an ACRA award.


Fans can purchase Extraordinary Light at iTunes, Amazon and other digital retailers on June 17, 2014. The album is available for pre-order beginning today at


Extraordinary Light TRACK LISTING:

1. Extraordinary Light

2. Matilda

3. Swede

4. Fragile Little Heart

5. Worry

6. Mostly, He Says

7. Everything

8. See You In The Morning Caroline

9. Sleep Through December

10. So Stolen By Your Ghost


Be sure to pick up ANONYMOUS, the novel that Publishers Weekly hailed as a "well-crafted piece of experimental, voyeuristic fiction..." and "a winning jumble of the gritty, the raw, and the grotesque" at
Share |