MUSIC NEWS: BILLY RAY CYRUS: Set For iHeart Radio Music Awards Tonight, May 1 on NBC 8/7CT; New Album ‘Icon: The Distance’ Due Out June 3 on Mercury/Ume

Tune in tonight, Thursday, May 1 as American singer, songwriter and actor BILLY RAY CYRUS will appear on the IHeart Radio Music Awards airing live on NBC at 8/7c ( Today, CMT has premiered the new video for the original version of "Hope Is Just Ahead," his current single. "Hope Is Just Ahead" was originally inspired by Columbine and violence against youth. Proceeds from the single will go to "Do the Write Thing-The National Campaign to Stop Violence" which creates awareness to students on the ground-level in schools to prevent violent behavior before it begins. Watch the clip on CMT here:

Meanwhile, BILLY RAY CYRUS will release ICON: THE DISTANCE, a collection of hits as well as new versions of lesser-known tracks spanning CYRUS' 22-year career which has been marked by multiple GRAMMY nominations. Song highlights on ICON: THE DISTANCE--due out June 3rdon Mercury/Ume--include: "The Distance," "Stand (with Miley Cyrus)," "Country Music Has the Blues (with George Jones and Loretta Lynn)," "Some Gave All (acoustic)" and "Achy Breaky Heart." Full tracklisting is below.

CYRUS will head to Nashville in early June for the CMA Music Festival. On Saturday, June 7, he'll perform live at the CMA Music Festival on the Riverfront Stage ( and On Thursday, June 5, CYRUS will be on hand for a screening of LIKE A COUNTRY SONG, a new independent film he is featured in, which will premiere during CMA Fest at the Regal Cinema (3815 Green Hills Village Dr., Nashville). The evening will commence with a cast/celebrity red carpet at 6:00 PM and the film will screen at 7:30PM. LIKE A COUNTRY SONG explores the "life happens" experiences of a talented and emerging country singer and reveals the personal character flaws, hurdles and unexpected challenges hindering the momentum of a hopeful career. The film will be featured in limited release in select theaters in Music City and around the nation beginning Friday, June 6 ( 

Following is the tracklisting for ICON: THE DISTANCE

1.         The Distance (Sanford)
2.         Trail Of Tears* (Cyrus)
3.         Call Me Daddy* (Cyrus/Von Tress/Sagraves)
4.         Busy Man** (Regan/Teren)
5.         Wanna Be Your Joe (Cyrus)
6.         Stand (with Miley Cyrus), (Dodd/Watts)
7.         The Freebird Fell (King/Pyle)
8.         Need A Little Help* (Cyrus/Von Tress)
9.         Country Music Has The Blues (w/George Jones and Loretta Lynn), (Trace     Cyrus)
10.       Some Gave All (acoustic), (Cyrus/Cyrus)
11.       Achy Breaky Heart*** (Von Tress)

All tracks produced by BILLY RAY CYRUS except otherwise noted.
*Produced by Terry Shelon and Billy Ray Cyrus
**Produced by John Kelton and Keith Stegall
***Produced by Joe Scaife and Jim Cotton
+Produced by Chas Sanford

Share |