Atlantic Records has announced the release of "(ACOUSTIC SESSIONS)," the forthcoming EP from Smith & Myers, better known to rock fans everywhere as Brent Smith and Zach Myers of Shinedown. The EP arrives on the iTunes Store and at all leading digital retailers on January 28th. 

"(ACOUSTIC SESSIONS)" sees Smith and Myers tackling a half dozen classic songs by such legendary artists as The Clash, Metallica, Otis Redding, Kenny Wayne Shepard – who makes a surprise cameo on the recording of his own "Blue On Black" -  Black Crowes, and Soul Asylum, all selected by Shinedown fans as the tracks they'd most like the band to cover. The stripped-down recording sessions were filmed in their entirety by Shinedown's longtime collaborator, filmmaker Darren Doane, resulting in intimate companion videos for each of the EP's six tracks. The first song/video from the collection to be unveiled, The Clash's "London Calling," made its exclusive premiere yesterday via and is streaming now on the band's official YouTube channel (  Videos for each of the EP's remaining tracks will premiere there daily leading up to the collection's January 28th release day.  For complete details, please see

"This is for the fans," says Smith.  "They picked the songs and we recorded them - it's as simple as that.  And I must say that our audience has great taste." 

In other news, January 22nd will see the eagerly anticipated broadcast television premiere of Shinedown's installment of The Live Room on Palladia. Filmed at the famed Henson Studios in Los Angeles, the exclusive set features electrifying versions of Shinedown favorites like "Bully" and "I'll Follow You" – both featured on the band's chart-topping 2012 smash, "AMARYLLIS" – alongside a surprising and powerful cover of Carole King's "I Feel The Earth Move." The Live Room: Shinedown debuts January 22nd at 9pm EST, with additional airings slated for the coming weeks (check local listings). 

SHINEDOWN is indisputably one of the most successful rock bands of the past 10+ years, enjoying an unparalleled streak of hits.  The band's most recent album, AMARYLLIS, entered the Billboard "Top 200 Albums" chart at #4 upon its release (#1 on the "Top Rock Albums" chart), and spawned three consecutive #1 singles with "Bully," "Unity," and "Enemies," and a top 5 hit in "I'll Follow You" which peaked at #2.  Over the course of their illustrious career, SHINEDOWN has scored a staggering 17 #1 singles (including their current streak of 10 consecutive #1 rock radio hits).  The band's latest single, "Adrenaline," is currently #4 on the rock chart.  The band's unprecedented ascendancy over multi-format rock radio commenced with their RIAA Platinum-certified 2003 debut LEAVE A WHISPER, its Gold-certified 2005 follow-up, US AND THEM, and  2008's Platinum-certified THE SOUND OF MADNESS.  SHINEDOWN's numerous national television appearances include performances on ABC's "Jimmy Kimmel Live!," NBC's "The Tonight Show with Jay Leno" and "The Today Show," CBS' "The Early Show," among others.

Shinedown is: Brent Smith (vocals), Zach Myers (guitars), Barry Kerch (drums), and Eric Bass (bass). 


"London Calling" - (Originally Performed By The Clash)
"Sitting On The Dock Of The Bay" - (Originally Performed By Otis Redding)
"Nothing Else Matters" - (Originally Performed By Metallica)
"She Talks To Angels" - (Originally Performed By Black Crowes)
"Blue On Black" - (Originally Performed By Kenny Wayne Shepard)
"Runaway Train" - (Originally Performed By Soul Asylum)
Share |