To celebrate the start of their North American tour dates, Shout Out Louds and Merge Records have released the Prins Thomas Diskomiks remix of their infectious single "Illusions". The cross continent tour kicks off tonight in Washington, DC at 9:30 Club, and sees the Swedish five piece visiting Canada and the United States west coast before heading south for Mexico City. The band are on tour in support of their critically acclaimed new album Optica, which The Onion deemed "grand and modern" and a "testament to the songwriting acumen of frontman Adam Olenius." Upcoming tour dates below.

Stream the Prins Thomas Diskomiks remix of "Illusions"

Watch the official music video for "Illusions"

"Particularly in its first half, Optica plays like a marvelous '80s mixtape, albeit one with modern production values and a good deal of subtlety. The references aren't all pop, either - the album-opening "Sugar" sounds like 's Robert Smith stepping in to lead The Smiths - but the results, in all their sweet and sunny glory, invariably chime and shine." - NPR Music

Optica is the band's fourth full-length release and marks 10 years since Shout Out Louds released their debut. Following their 2010 album Work, the band (Adam Olenius - lead vocals; Bebban Stenborg - keyboards; Ted Malmros - bass; Carl von Arbin - guitar; and Eric Edman - drums) headed out on their most successful tour ever and returned home to their own pursuits. Families were expanded, side projects were launched and homes outside of Stockholm were explored. When the time came to work on another Shout Out Louds record they wanted to return to the playful spirit that first brought them together 10 years ago.

Shout Out Louds took their time with these songs, recording for about one-and-a-half years in a small Stockholm studio and producing themselves for the first time with help from Johannes Berglund. A theme emerged and Optica was born, an album celebrating color and light from a band confident in its sound, filled with real strings, trombones, trumpets and flutes.

Upcoming Tour Dates:

* = w/ Haerts


07 - Washington, DC - 9:30 Club *

08 - Philadelphia, PA - Union Transfer *

10 - New York, NY - Webster Hall *

11 - Boston, MA - Paradise *

13 - Montreal, QC - La Sala Rosa *

14 - Toronto, ONT - The Opera House *

15 - Detroit, MI - The Magic Bag *

16 - Chicago, IL - Metro *

17 - Minneapolis, MN - Varsity Theater *

20 - Vancouver, BC - Venue *

21 - Portland, OR - Aladdin Theater *

22 - San Francisco, CA - Great American Music Hall *

23 - Los Angeles, CA - El Rey *

24 - Los Angeles, CA - El Rey *

26 - Seattle, WA - Sasquatch Festival

30 - Mexico City, Mexico - El Plaza Condesa

Bob Zerull
Managing Editor/Contributor for Zoiks! Online
Owner of ZPNetwork - A Podcasting Network
Share |