Influential '90s New York City-based indie rock band Texas Is The Reason have announced their final shows ever. Beginning on Friday, July 26 in Aurich, Germany, the week-long tour will take in four evenings and performances in Germany, one in Spain and three in the United Kingdom, culminating in a final performance at the Electric Ballroom in London on Sunday, August 4. The upcoming week of shows follows Texas Is The Reason's recent appearance at this past weekend's Groezrock Festival in Belgium and its final, successful North American set of performances that saw the band performing in markets such as Toronto, Boston, Philadelphia, Washington DC, Atlanta, San Francisco and Los Angeles. Tickets for all of the upcoming shows will go on sale on Thursday, May 2. The band will be performing these shows in support of its latest release, the 16-track Do You Know Who You Are?: The Complete Collection.


Released on February 12, 2013 though Revelation Records, the album is a comprehensive collection of every recorded piece of music in the band's history, featuring the original Do You Know Who You Are? full-length album, the self-titled EP, as well as two B-sides never before on CD/digital, and two previously unreleased tracks written in 1997 and recorded in 2012 with J. Robbins titled "Every Little Girl's Dream" and "When Rock 'N' Roll Was Just A Baby." The album package also includes never-before-published photos, a comprehensive concert history for the band from 1995-2012, and complete lyrics.

They came from some of the most popular, if not polarizing hardcore bands of the early '90s (Shelter, 108, Ressurection), but by the time Texas Is The Reason formed in 1994, a new aesthetic crystallized almost instantly and reduced its members' previous efforts to history. Indeed, it was only a year later when Revelation Records released the band's self-titled EP, their name derived from a lyric in the Misfits song "Bullet," that Texas Is The Reason were already headlining their own tours in America and well on their way to defining a new moment in post-punk.


In April of 1996, the band reinforced that initial success with their first and only album, produced by Jawbox's J. Robbins and named after the last words that John Lennon was alleged to have heard: "Do You Know Who You Are?" In the years since, SPIN, Alternative Press, and Paste would all go on to call Do You Know Who You Are? an essential '90s album. Unfortunately, after a year of heavy promotion and touring for the record, inner-band tension came to a head and the band officially split in 1997. Its members would go on to form Jets To Brazil, New End Original and Solea.


Since then the band had only reunited once - for two sold-out New York City shows in 2006 - but their presence has barely waned: Newer generations of bands like Spitalfield, Into It. Over It., and Transit have covered Texas Is The Reason songs over the years, and even vets such as Thursday, Taking Back Sunday, and Armor For Sleep have all publicly cited their influence. So after agreeing to headline the opening night of Revelation Records' 25th Anniversary festival in New York City earlier this year (and once again promptly selling it out), the band decided it was time to tie up the longest of loose ends by releasing a remastered discography collection in 2013 featuring its entire recorded output, as well as two freshly recorded, never-before-released songs - their final songs ever.


Texas Is The Reason will be performing their final shows in Europe and UK during July and August. Tour dates below.



26 - Aurich, Germany - Omas Teich Festival

27 - Berlin, Germany - Greenville Festival

29 - Cologne, Germany - Stollwerck

30 - Wiesbaden, Germany - Schlachthof

31 - Barcelona, Spain - Estraperlo Club



02 - Glasgow, UK - Classic Grand

03 - Manchester, UK - Manchester Academy 3

04 - London, UK - Electric Ballroom - FINAL SHOW EVER







Bob Zerull
Managing Editor/Contributor for Zoiks! Online
Owner of ZPNetwork - A Podcasting Network


Share |