@blackwaterrisin Confirm Summer Release for Sophomore Album


BLACK WATER RISING is back with the follow up to their critically acclaimed self-titled debut. The yet to be titled sophomore effort due out this July from the New York Hard Rockers represents what many would describe as another honest, barebones, no frills rock album. "The recipe is the same as the first. I didn't deviate from what I believe BLACK WATER RISING music to be, I didn't set out to grow or mature says frontman Rob Traynor. He continues, "I feel this new album is not much of a departure from the first, and I believe that's a good thing. Besides, I don't think fans would want it any other way. I'm still writing from the same place I was writing from before, I'm still the same guy...for better or for worse. We're still the same band, with the addition of a killer new guitarist, Dennis Kimak who joined us after the departure of our original guitarist Johnny."

Today the band has teamed up with Noisecreep to debut the first single from their new album. Get a first listen to "Show No Mercy" HERE. Then be sure to download your copy on iTunes.

BLACK WATER RISING was formed from the ashes of various national touring acts. After releasing two self produced albums nationwide with a band called Dust To Dust, singer songwriter Rob Traynor locked himself away in his Brooklyn, New York recording studio, later emerging with a collection of songs that would become the seeds of BLACK WATER RISING's debut album. Traynor was soon joined by former Boiler Room drummer Mike Meselsohn, former Stereomud guitarist Johnny Fattoruso and bassist Oddie McLaughlin and they would unleash their self-titled debut album on March 2, 2010. The album would achieve the #1 slot on Amazon.com's Hard Rock Chart upon release and the band received heavy airplay on Sirius Satellite Radio's Octane channel for the singles "Brother Go On" and "No Halos". The album reached the #6 slot in the Top 20 airplay chart for the channel. "Brother Go On" also cracked the top 40 on the Media Base Active Rock Radio Chart.

Invigorated and eager to capitalize on the success of their debut album, the band's new material promises to be riff heavy and proudly anchored in the foundations of traditional hard rock and metal song writing with hooks and catchy choruses to pull you in. New songs like Show No Mercy, Pissed And Driven, Last Man Standing and Fire It Up combine the bands love of Thin Lizzy and Judas Priest with the sonic stomp of Black Label Society, all while retaining a musical identity of their own.

Rob Traynor - Vocals, Guitar
Dennis Kimak - Guitar
Mike Meselsohn - Drums
Oddie McLaughlin - Bass




Bob Zerull
Managing Editor/Contributor for Zoiks! Online
Owner of ZPNetwork - A Podcasting Network
Share |